Turtledad warned me about starting the kiss-it-better thing. Something about toughening him up, I think. But c’mon, one little kiss can stop the tears! Magic. Sweet, simple magic.

When I was a child, my parents didn’t kiss-it-better; they would ‘blow-it-better’ instead. I’m not sure why. But I do remember really believing that it helped.

Today, however, I was presented with two kiss-it-better spots which were rather challenging. This morning Wren pointed to the molar erupting at the back of his mouth: kiss better? kiss better? A little kiss on the lips was the best I could offer. He wasn’t quite convinced.

Later this afternoon, I was sitting on the floor reading the paper, when all of a sudden, there was a bare bottom presented in my face – downward dog style – Bum kiss better bum? I couldn’t kiss the part which was actually sore, but kissing a smooth, soft butt cheek was a pleasure.

