Beginning something is always the hard part, so let’s forget the all the ruminating I have been doing over my First Post:  How will I make my entrance into the world of blogging?  What impression do I want to leave?  How will I set the tone for my blog?  Blah, blah, blah – all ridiculous,  I know.  Chances are I do not have any readers yet, and may never have more than the casual passer-by, the internet being a very big place.

I figure the safest way to begin is by setting the bar very low.  That way, I will not be too intimidated to add further posts.

I begin with the assumption that this blog is just for me. So, if you don’t mind, I’ll remind myself how I got to be here.

Sometime after becoming a mother in mid-2007, I came to the realisation that parenting is one of the most thought-provoking, challenging (on many levels) and rewarding things I have ever done.  Unfortunately, I have also discovered that there is little outlet for all my ground-breaking new insights and thoughts.  So it will all have to go, ah, around here somewhere ..

Oh, what was that I was saying about not setting the bar too high? Let’s be honest, the groundbreaking discoveries will be few and far between.  In all likelihood, this blog will be a place for me to complain about the drudgery of motherhood and share the little joys which are probably of zero interest to anyone else.

Oh, ok, there will be that, but, what I would really like to explore, and hope others will too, is the relationship between feminism and motherhood/parenting; my own journey in finding some balance. I practice attachment parenting, though feel there are huge challenges to making it work in this society. I have a supportive partner, but the challenges in sharing parenting equally are massive. I have a son, and I watch all the forces at work in creating him, and wonder how to make him a feminist. I also consider myself an activist, which for me is a refusal to accept the status quo, and taking action wherever possible to create a better world.  This is a worldview I take to parenting and one which I want to share with my son. If I ever find the time, I would like to explore these issues here.

Ah, well, I’ll just get something up and we’ll see what follows.

At the very least, a beginning!

